I was born in a nominal Christian home that went to church only on Christmas or Easter. I attended Sunday school and VBS as a child. We were a happy family of hardworking parents and three sisters. My father is an atheist and my mother, a Christian, thought the world of my dad.

When I was 19, I had a dream that my mother passed away and I was absolutely terrified. Within a month, my mother had a rare virulent type of blood cancer and passed away within 21 days.

Six months later, my sister and I got married within three days of each other.

By the grace of God, my husband was a believer in the Lord. When he read the Bible, I ended up reading it with him. We prayed together every day. But I wasn’t convinced that Jesus was the only way to be saved. Whenever I came across the part where it says, “Jesus rose again”, I was reminded of a story my father told us where His disciples stole the body and made up a story that He rose from the dead.

In the September of 1995, when our daughter Anita was 8 years old, I had a nightmare, that she passed away, that seemed all too familiar.

In my dream, I saw the body lying in a coffin, and people were going around it and kissing it. I too kissed her and her skin felt like leather.

I woke up terrified once again, and this time, I went to her bedside to pray. As I touched her, I noticed she was burning with a fever. The next morning, she began to vomit blood. We rushed her to a hospital where she was admitted for 21 days.

Her temperature rose to 105 deg F. She started hemorrhaging internally. On the 20th day, the doctors gave up hope. They informed me that I had to prepare for the worst. She was in and out of consciousness and she would tell us that she could see demons, but we thought she was delirious.

That night my husband and I decided to fast and pray all night. We put the IV tube through the Bible on the verse which says “We are healed by His wounds”. Both of us knelt on either side of the bed and started to pray.

I told Jesus – “if what is written in the Bible is true, that You are alive and You do miracles, then why don’t You come and heal my daughter.”

That was it.

At about 2 am my daughter began stirring and started talking. We moved closer to her to try and understand what she was saying but couldn’t quite figure out because she was speaking in another language. The only word we could understand was Jesus. After a few minutes, she abruptly got up, crossed her legs, and said, “Mummy I am healed”. It was rather unusual for an eight-year-old to say. Then she said, “I saw Jesus”.

She continued to explain, “I was taken up through a dark tunnel – higher and higher – which opened into a bright hole that led to a golden gate of pearls. The gate was open and I ran through it. I walked through streets of gold which were so beautiful and reached the shores of a sea. I was wondering how I would cross this sea, but when I put my foot on it, it was only glass. I crossed over to find a huge throne made of gold and Jesus was standing near it. I ran to Him, and He carried me and I felt so happy there I did not want to come home. I hugged Jesus really tight but He kissed me and put me down and told me to go.”

That’s when she woke up.

She explained how Jesus was the most beautiful person she had ever seen – His robe was bright and His hair and eyes were just so brilliant. She kept repeating that Jesus was so beautiful.

When the doctors came in the morning, they were astounded to see the same sick child skipping and playing about in the room. They could not believe what I told them and insisted on a blood test. We agreed and did it, and the results came back normal. Hallelujah! Glory to God.

When we were discharged and returned home, she saw the picture of Christ at the entrance to the house and exclaimed, “What a terrible painting that is, Jesus is so beautiful”. From that day, she began to read the Bible voraciously for hours together and memorise portions of scripture. She would sometimes explain such deep truths simply and I knew it could only be from God. She displayed such love every day.

I too started reading the scriptures for the first time, believing fully that Jesus was indeed alive and that everything about Him was true. It took me four months to come to the book of Revelations, which I had never read earlier. To my amazement, I found the exact description of my daughter’s dream.

With this experience, I am compelled to share His love with everyone I come across. My students, colleagues, and neighbors. All glory and honor to our only true God and His Son Jesus Christ, through His Holy Spirit. Amen.

– Geetha Devakumar

Visit www.aweandwonder.in for more